St Giles Curriculum

Learners at St Giles have a wide range of abilities and needs. The curriculum is designed to provide

the opportunities essential for the learning and development of all learners, enabling them to make

maximum progress throughout their time at the school and be the best that they can be.

The St Giles Curriculum has four pillars that support this intent;

  • Access for all
  • Total Communication
  • Positive Behaviour Support
  • Ambition to be the best you can be.


Curriculum Pathways

The curriculum is organised into four pathways. Over time individual learners may move between curriculum pathways as their strengths and needs change and develop.

  • The Pre-formal pathway for learners with profound and multiple learning difficulties working below the level of the national curriculum and not engaged in subject-specific study. Learners following this pathway are assessed using St Giles Pebble Levels and the Engagement Model.
  • The Semi-formal pathway is for learners with severe learning difficulties, working below national curriculum level with some subject-specific studies. These learners are assessed through the Engagement Model and using St Giles Stepping Stone Levels and Bridging Levels up to Bridging Level 3.
  • The Formal pathway for learners with moderate learning difficulties working at the level of the national curriculum and engaged in subject-specific study. These learners are assessed between Bridging Level 3 and Milestone 6.
  • The Early Years pathway for learners in Lower School following the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. This is informed by appropriate content from the pre-formal and semi-formal curriculum and focuses on the Prime areas of development:
  • Communication and Language,
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • and Physical Development.

It may also include creative content and content on characteristics of effective learning.