Curriculum Faculties

Curriculum Faculties

The curriculum at St Giles has been developed by our staff team drawing upon a wide range of curriculum materials, advice from specialist teachers and therapists. Over the last three and a half years, teachers and teaching assistants have worked in curriculum faculties developing the five curriculum areas which we believe are essential for life and learning. They have worked across the pre-formal, semi-formal and formal pathways to ensure that curriculum content is correctly sequenced.

The areas are:

  • Communication and Interaction
  • Personal and Emotional Wellbeing
  • Sensory and physical
  • Cognition and Challenge
  • Creative

The first three of these areas correspond with the Early Years Prime areas of development

  • Communication and Language,
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development.

The first four of these areas correspond with the key stage outcomes set for our learners in their Education, Health and Care Plans.

The 5 curriculum areas are further divided as follows;

  • Communication and Interaction contains communication, functional literacy, and English
  • Cognition and Challenge contains functional numeracy, maths, computing, science and the humanities.
  • Personal and Emotional Wellbeing contains content on pupil voice and independence
  • Creative contains art, drama and music.

You can find video clips and resources relating to each of these areas by pressing the Home Learning button on our website’s Home page.